Form of Government

The Town of Cromwell, Connecticut's municipal government operates under a Town Charter. Effective with the general election held in November 2013, the Town changed to a Town Council/Town Manager form of government. The legislative power of the town is vested in a combination of a Mayor and the six member Town Council, with a Board of Finance responsible for presenting fiscal operating budgets for Referendum approval.