Tax Office

Douglas Sienna, Tax Collector
Michelle Lukas, CCMC, Assistant Tax Collector
Patricia Kratochvil, CCMC, Assistant Tax Collector

The Tax Office is located on the first floor of Town Hall and is open Monday through Friday, 8:30 a.m. to 4:00 p.m., except for major holidays. 

Billing Cycle

The Tax Office is responsible for collection of Town and Fire District property taxes, including real estate, motor vehicle, and personal property for businesses. 

The bills for real estate and personal property are split into two installments: first is due July 1st and the second is due January 1st in accordance with Connecticut State Statute Sec 12-142. 

Tax bills are mailed out once per year in June and have two installment stubs on them.  No bills are sent for the January installment.
Motor Vehicle taxes are paid in one installment; regular motor vehicle bills are due July 1 and supplemental motor vehicle bills (for vehicles registered between October 2 and July 30) are due January 1.


Delinquent Taxes

Interest on delinquent taxes accrues at the rate of 1.5% per month. 

Connecticut Statutes 12-145 and 12-146 govern delinquent tax collection and states that municipal tax collectors do not have the authority to waive interest per Connecticut State Statute 12-130 .

All delinquent motor vehicle bills must be paid by cash or certified bank check to obtain a DMV release for registration. 

Credit card payments are processed by Official Payments.  The website to make credit card payments is www.officialpayments.com